top of page

Fri, Jan 19

|

Location will be emailed to guests

Italian Literature Book Group: The Eight Mountains

(Dante members only) Start reading so we can discuss...

Registration is Closed
See other events
Italian Literature Book Group: The Eight Mountains
Italian Literature Book Group: The Eight Mountains

Time & Location

Jan 19, 2024, 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM PST

Location will be emailed to guests

Guests

About the Event

The focus of the book group is fiction and non-fiction; books written by Italian authors (in translation); books written by any author, set in Italy, and books about Italy. It’s a large set, but one book generally leads in the direction of the next, so we won’t feel discombobulated. The moderator of the book club is Connie Bertuca, former high school English teacher, lover of books and Italian travel, and perpetual Italian 2 student.

 📚 The January  Book Selection  — The Eight Mountains by  Paolo Cognetti  

“A fine book, a rich, achingly painful story that is made for all of us who have ever felt a hunger for the mountains. Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness. And it is an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another.” —Annie Proulx For fans of Elena Ferrante and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their connection evolves and challenges them throughout their lives. Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the mountains that surround Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the Aosta Valley, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountains’ meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life—Bruno’s in the mountains, Pietro’s across the world—test the strength and meaning of their connection. A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. “There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti’s writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story…a true novel by a great writer" (Rolling Stone Italia).

_______________________________________________________________

*the size of the group is limited to 10 members.  If you are not yet a paid member of Dante, sign-up here.  

Questions about Book Club? You can message Connie at bertuca@cruzio.com

Share This Event

bottom of page